Dinner in Minutes

Image of Sundried Tomato Chicken

Six minutes, to be exact. Four minutes in the microwave, then two minutes to stand–you know, so you don’t burn yourself.

It’s one of those evenings when I’m sitting in front of the television and watching Top Chef Masters. Everything the chefs are cooking up makes my mouth water and my stomach is growling like a hungry beast. Eventually, I start to wonder, What am I going to have for dinner? A string of the names of nearby restaurants goes through my mind, but none seem appealing enough. I figure that I might go to Chipotle and get a yummy burrito bowl. Added bonus: I’ve got a gift card! (Thanks Trevor!)

But then I realize that going out to attain this delicious Mexican meal means going into the closet, finding an outfit and then attempting to fix my face and the makeup that it’s been wearing since 7 a.m. this morning.

No thank you. I’m feeling quite lazy.

Though it isn’t exactly going to be a gourmet meal, I resign myself to having a frozen dinner from my emergency stash. The perks? Save money, save gas and continue being lazy, (until I get ready to head out to You Fit, of course).

The Verdict

I rate the Healthy Choice Sundried Tomato Chicken steam meal a 7.5 out of 10.

The sauce is light and not overpowering. In fact, I would’ve appreciated it being slightly more flavorful. Tender whole grain pasta, broccoli, sundried tomatoes, mushrooms and chicken comprise the meal. My first descriptive word would probably have to be “bland,” but luckily, the sweet and tangy sundried tomatoes add a little personality. Overall, Healthy Choice has created a good dish. With a few shakes of black pepper, the perfectly portioned 320-calorie Sundried Tomato Chicken definitely earns a place on my list of go-to options for when I want to feel satisfied yet stay within my conscientious diet.

It’s certainly not a great substitute for a visit to Carrabba’s, but it’s easy on the wallet and also easy on the waist. Could most girls ask for anything more?

Sundried Tomato Chicken

images courtesy of healthychoice.com

Leave a Reply

