Recipe Review: Pumpkin Bars

photo courtesy of Google images

Lemon raspberry bars were one of my most favorite indulgences growing up. I used to go to my neighborhood Barnes and Noble and treat myself to one of these tasty treats and a hot latte at the cafe. This is the fruity version of a brownie…usually with a crumbly crust, soft gooey lemon-raspberry on top, in the convenient and portable shape of a small bar.

In honor of my favorite treat, I decided to try to make some bars with a fall twist: pumpkin. Using Google to find a good recipe, I came across this one, from Sweet Pea’s Kitchen: http://sweetpeaskitchen.com/2010/09/pumpkin-bars-with-cream-cheese-frosting/

I followed the recipe to a perfect “T,” except for maybe the tools that I used. I actually mixed all of this by hand–including the frosting! Unfortunately, I don’t have a mixer. (insert sad face here) But hmm, there’s a thought. Maybe I should put a cute, pink Betty Crocker mixer on my Christmas list? Genius.

Anyway, I’m not usually the type of person who makes baked treats from scratch at home. I have always wanted to, but never really had the opportunity since I tend to stay pretty busy, and other things take priority, (work, housework, errands, etc.). It has been a fun experience to get in the kitchen and give this recipe a try.

Cooking and baking are de-stressing activities for me. I like the process of following a recipe and taking steps to produce a delicious and nourishing final product. Every now and then, I also enjoy taking liberties with those recipes by adding or substituting different recipes. The process of creating food is all about being creative and that’s why I love it so much.

Final product:

Photo: Homemade pumpkin bars with cream cheese frosting  http://instagr.am/p/QYkPg8K4Vq/

actual photo taken with my iPhone

They came out with a very bread/cake-like consistency. I was hoping for something a little more dense…but the texture in no way ruined the taste! I was happily surprised at how delicious my cream cheese frosting came out, and combined, the bars and frosting are a winning combination. I’m sure that they will end up being a big hit at tomorrow’s Heart Walk Fundraiser Bake Sale!

I give this recipe a 9.5 out of 10 stars! As I mentioned before, the only thing that I wasn’t completely satisfied with was the texture–but I think I can make do with what I got.

Leave a Reply

