We All Scream for Ice Cream

It seems that I just can’t get enough of pumpkin now that fall is here. As much as I love summer, the fall is definitely a close second when it comes to being my favorite time of year. Now, it’s time to put the bikinis away and forget about the beach for a while because the cold breezes are blowing and it’s time to dig out the sweaters, and maybe even some boots; (although let’s be real here and admit that the majority of us Floridians are going to let our toes hang freely out of our flip flops).

After a healthy and delicious penne pasta dinner–which also had freshly chopped tomatoes, red onions, a sprinkle of red pepper flakes and Italian seasoning, topped with skim mozzarella cheese–my sister and I were craving a little something sweet for dessert. A lightbulb went off overhead and I announced that we were going to Bruster’s, anticipating the sweet, yummy pumpkin ice cream that I would soon be enjoying.

courtesy of Google images

The changing of the seasons always brings tasty new flavors to the Bruster’s menu, and I was utterly delighted to find that pumpkin was making its debut about a week or so ago. I can’t believe it took me this long to make a trip to their store.

With its creamy consistency and pumpkin pie-reminiscent flavor, I proudly give this ice cream a 10 out of 10 stars. It had a nice hint of cinnamon and tasted like autumn heaven. It was definitely worth the drive all the way over to Apalachee Parkway (about 10 minutes) late at night. You can rest assured that I will be going back for more…and maybe even bringing home a pint next time! Who knows? I might even decide to be adventurous and concoct some sort of pumpkin float. Hmmm…I’m thinking cream soda would be the base.

If you’re in Tallahassee, or located elsewhere with a Bruster’s in town, do not miss the opportunity to miss this amazing flavor! It won’t really feel like fall until you have a taste.

Leave a Reply

