Campbell’s Soup: Braised Beef Stew

Braised Beef Stew with Baby Bella Mushrooms, Roasted Potatoes and Burgundy Wine

image courtesy of http://www.campbellsoup.com

It’s finally that time of year here in Tallahassee; when you can break out that wrinkled stash of sweaters, leggings and even scarves. Some ladies excitedly don their snow boots, (I haven’t given up my open-toed heels for work, and weekender sandals just yet). And aside from the enthusiasm of being able to wear “winter clothes,” I’d say that the majority of us get giddy at the thought of all of the nice, warm comfort food that we get to indulge in. One of the top items on that list is, of course, soup.

When my lunch hour is sneaking up on me at work, visions of Creamy Tomato soup from Panera start dancing in my head. That is, until I take into consideration how far away it is from my office and how much of a hole that cup of hot deliciousness will leave in my wallet. Let’s just say that by the time I’m clocking out, I am no longer motivated to make that trip.

So after my workout at You Fit last night, I made my usual stop at the Publix just a few stores down from the gym, to pick up a few necessities to get me through the rest of the week. As I browsed aisle after aisle, I found myself lingering near the soups. My eyes scanned over the cans in disdain. I didn’t want to waste my money on the bland, watery stuff that was loaded with preservatives and hardly left you feeling satisfied after consumption. I was contemplating picking up some (more expensive) soup from the deli, when I spotted some interesting-looking items on the very top shelf: Campbell’s Slow Kettle Style Soup.

I’ll admit that the Beef Stew wasn’t exactly the flavor that I’d had my heart set on. I’m more of a Tomato Bisque kind of girl. But after a quick review of the Nutrition panel and frowning at the 8 Saturated Fat grams per serving, I had to force myself to put it down. And though the Portabella Mushroom and Madeira Bisque sounded absolutely fantastic as well, the Saturated Fat content (9 whopping grams!!) screamed a loud “NO!” at me as well. Since I like braised beef, mushrooms and potatoes, I figured the Stew was my best bet to enjoy a good cup of soup while also staying somewhat healthy.

(Click here to view the Nutrition Info for Campbell’s Braised Beef Stew)

Pros: 

  • Easy-open container
  • 2 servings per container; only 300 calories if you eat it all!
  • Delicious flavor, there’s a hint of rosemary
  • Generous chunks of beef
  • Fair price: (about $3.69 at my local Publix)
  • Only 1.5 g of saturated fat per serving

Cons: 

  • You can’t microwave your soup in the container! (Thank goodness we had some mugs in the cupboard)

Yup…just one reason that I didn’t like it. Now, it wasn’t exactly 5-star restaurant soup, but it was a major upgrade from Campbell’s in a can. I enjoyed every bite of it! I happily award Campbell’s Slow Kettle Style Braised Beef Stew with 4 out of 5 stars, judging on its overall taste, price and how convenient it was. Load up on these soups to throw in your lunch bag for work. You’ll appreciate having a quick lunch on hand that will save you a trip to a restaurant and a few bucks on your budget.

Leave a Reply

