Greasy or Dry Hands–What’s Your Preference?

sheacream1

Personally, I’d say, “NEITHER!

And yet…I was starting to think that these were the only options available for hand cream formulas. In the past, I was a major fan of the Ultimate Strength Hand Salve by Kiehl’s. It had awesome staying power and wasn’t too greasy. The problem? A full-size tube will cost you $22. And Kiehl’s does offer a travel size version, but with the amount of moisturize that my hands constantly require…that just wouldn’t have been the economical solution.

When I decided to move on from that lovely luxury salve, I made the transition to L’Occitane Hand Cream, which I found at Sephora. When I first purchased this cream, I chose to get it in the Japanese Cherry Blossom scent. It was divine–perfectly balanced, sweet, but not too overwhelming! Despite the tube only containing an ounce, I managed to make the stuff last for months. When I went back for another fix, I was surprised to find that the cost of these little hand creams was a whopping $12. (I am fairly sure that in the first go-around I only shelled out ten bucks.) I talked myself into thinking it was worth the re-purchase and went with the unscented version…which actually does have a mild, somewhat powdery scent to it. It’s not off-putting but it’s not an alluring scent either.

I am happy to say that I have recently found the absolute best hand cream that exists. It scores high points in all categories: price, packaging (let’s be honest, the cuter, the better), scent, staying power and most importantly, consistency.

Product: True Blue Spa Shea Cashmere Hand Cream by Bath and Body Works

Cost: $12.50 for 2.5 ounces; $6.00 for 1 ounce

While placing an order for my Fall candles from Bath and Body Works, I was browsing their “spa” products and stumbled upon these hand creams. With a name like “Shea Cashmere,” they were certainly intriguing. BBW was running a “Buy 2 Get 1 Free” special, making them an irresistible buy. When I received my products in the mail a week and a half later, I was ecstatic that I’d taken a chance.

I purchased both the Shea Cashmere and the Shea Cashmere & Silk hand creams. The only difference between the two seems to be the scent. Shea Cashmere has a blend of sweet Tahitian vanilla, whipped shea and golden amber while the Cashmere & Silk version offers a blend of almond blossom, vanilla and creamy sandalwood. These scents sweep you right off your feet and drop you on your bum on a deserted beach at sunset.

Now, they don’t throw cashmere in the name for no reason. Mongolian cashmere extract is one of the ingredients, along with African Shea Butter, featured in these products. BBW has hit the hand cream jackpot because these formulas are perfect. It takes just a small amount to moisturize your hands. Rub the cream into your skin and it absorbs instantly–leaving no grease behind! Your hands are left feeling smooth, looking healthy and smelling like dessert.

The full 2.5 ounce size isn’t much of an extra burden in my excessively large Michael Kors bag, but for those of you who are looking for something a bit smaller to tote around in a roomy wristlet, the 1 ounce squeeze tube fits the bill.

sheacream2*FOR A LIMITED TIME* You can purchase 3 minis at BBW for the price of 2! I decided to grab a set of the minis since I love the products so much. If I’m feeling generous, I might share one with a friend.

This product deserves a perfect A+. It is hands down the best hand cream available! Try it and you will fall in love.

Also recommended (for all-over-your-body luxury):

True Blue Spa Shea Cashmere Body Lotion

True Blue Spa Shea Cashmere Shower Cream

Leave a Reply

